Political Science

Department of Political Science

The department started functioning from the academic year 2012-13. Since its inception the department is actively engaged in teaching and research in the field of political philosophy, Modern political history, Indian government and politics, International Relations and Political Sociology as its core areas. The department promotes the study of the principles of social justice, secularism, democratic way of life and different approaches to the problems of society. Hence as an academic philosophy the department encourages an interdisciplinary epistemology.
The department stresses on and provides theoretical foundations necessary to analyse different modes of power relations operating in society and state. The assessment of the students is done not only through conventional methods of assignments, tests and tutorials but also by encouraging students to bring their own socio-political perspectives to the classroom.
Students of the department are constantly encouraged to pursue higher education in reputed institutions across the country. Former students of the department are pursuing MA and MPhil programmes in centres and universities like Jawaharlal Nehru University, Jadavpur University, and Centre for Studies in Social Sciences (CSSSC), University of Delhi, Sikkim University and North Bengal University.
The department regularly invites reputed scholars for from diverse fields to deliver their research findings and to engage with the students and update them on different sub-fields of political science. Constant efforts are being made to organise National Level Seminars, Debates and Mock Parliaments to enable students to get a clear sense of the working of the ‘largest democracy’ in the world and contribute towards fulfilling the promises of our Constitution.